Adam, or “That Asperger’s Movie”

Rose Byrne and Hugh Dancy in Adam

Rose Byrne and Hugh Dancy in "Adam"


Another movie review for The Other Paper in Columbus–and another subject near and dear to my heart–people who just don’t fit the mold society lays out for us. Click here for my review of Adam.

I heard about this movie on NPR, so I jumped at the chance to review it. The Cincinnati screening was sold out–thank you, press pass.

There’s a community that’s grown up around this film. After the credits, I talked to a family whose close friend has Asperger’s. The list of cities where Adam plays continues to grow.

As a screenwriter who’s also an educator, with a family member on the autism spectrum, this film meant a lot to me. I believe it’s the first major film whose lead character has Asperger’s.

In interviews he’s done, Max Mayer talks about how Adam’s problems fitting in and managing social relationships are feelings we can all relate to.

I, for one, am just so glad for the dialogue this film is bringing to America.

~ by elenastevenson on August 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
