I’m a Rotten Listener–and the Potty

My spiritual life as of late has more to do with keeping myself grounded than changing anyone else’s mind. My prayer for today: “God, please help me be a better listener.”

I really hurt someone important to me yesterday. It was what I didn’t do. I was so absorbed in my thoughts that I did not give this precious one my full ear. Yes, I have a lot on my mind. But yes, the people in my life deserve my attention. I know it can hurt to be ignored. In our distracted society, where so many things vie for our attention, listening is the most precious gift you can give another human being. Even those of you taking time to read this blog–hey, that’s a gift too, and thank you.

Please, forgive me.

In happier news: my older son peed on the “toi-yet” for the first time today. If you can’t understand why that’s such a big deal, you don’t have kids yet.

~ by elenastevenson on July 15, 2008.

4 Responses to “I’m a Rotten Listener–and the Potty”

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself! The art of listening is a practiced art. You’re so right, it IS difficult to maintain that decemcy sometimes amidst the hustle and bustle of our minds and thoughts!! The fact that you’re even aware of this, means you are far and away beyond the typical person today. Do not allow yourself to forget that or minimize its importance!!
    ….and hoooraayyyy for your son….that, too, is certainly a “BIG” deal…congrats to you both on that milestone:-)

  2. I remember it took ages to train my nephew to go ‘pee-pee’ on the toilet, it was such a big event, I was really proud of him, so I know how big a deal it is. Congrats!

    And yeah don’t be so hard on yourself, we can’t give our loved ones attention 24/7 physically, but when we are working we must also remember that although we are not directly thinking of them, we are working for them.

  3. I hope this was resolved okay
    *hugs*

  4. Did you jump up and down for joy like some of the potty-training books tell you to do? haha. That might scare the little guy though. Hope he continues making progress! The 2nd one should be easier to train bc he wants to be like big bro.

    We are all guilty of sometimes not giving 100% undivided attention. As long as nobody gets physically hurt, we’re doing our jobs pretty well. For young ones, they forget very quickly. Just continue to shower the love and attention everyday when you’re less preoccupied.

Leave a Reply

 
