An Amazing Story

If you’re anything like me, you love an amazing story…this one brought tears to my eyes.  You can read the whole thing in the March 2007 issue of REAL SIMPLE.  A year and a half later, it still resonates with me.

The woman who wrote this story was a marine biologist, not a professional writer, and about the same age as me.  She’d always been very independent until a cataclysmic event forced her to accept help.  While traveling in Thailand, her fiancee was stung by a jellyfish and died, right there on the beach.  There she was, alone, in shock. Many offered sympathy, but two Israeli women refused to leave her side.  They sat with her as she cried, waited at the morgue, talked to an irritable police detective.  They even changed the date of their plane tickets so they could stay with her. 

 You might think, “Oh, they were kind grandmotherly types, and they empathized because they’d lost partners too.”  They were 21 years old.   I could hardly believe it.  Now, this really made me think. These college-age girls gave up their vacation to care about the tragedy of a total stranger.  A few years ago, “What Would Jesus Do?” became ubiquitous in America, and we all got sick of hearing the words without action. But if this isn’t what Jesus would do, I don’t know what is.  Wow.  It makes me think twice about where my heart is when it comes to the needs of others.  Yes, our culture says, “Me first.”  But we still have to choose to reach out to another human being.  Will I? Will you?  It makes me think of the verse from Esther, where Uncle Mordechai tells the young woman, “Who knows but that you were born for such a time as this?”

~ by elenastevenson on June 7, 2008.

6 Responses to “An Amazing Story”

  1. With all the bad we hear about, it’s nice to hear about the good in the world. I’m not sure I could of done what the young girls did, I have to be honest. They are two amazing young ladies.

  2. What would Buddha do?

    What would Gandhi do?

    What would Mother Teresa do?

    What would YOU do? haha…

    I know, dramatics aside…and all joking aside…

    Yeahs…I agree…with Joanne…

    Sometimes it’s hard to care…just because we “read” about it…

    But I’m shure it would have been different had we been “there”…

    I know I would have sat down…with her…but like Joanne said…

    Don’t know if I’d have been able to stay…Unless…haha…

    I was a “drifter”…!! haha…Elena…I like what you are doing here…the topics of discussion NOT limited to any particular topic…freedom…is how I crave thee so…haha…

    But yeahs…you’ll be seeing some more of “Locstah” around here…

    haha…

  3. Hi, Loc, good to see you over here. Although I try my best to live like Jesus, it is hard. As human beings we all make choices every day. We can be absorbed in ourselves or reach out to others. I just really admire and respect what these girls did.

  4. I just found your article, and the story is just so powerful. I’m 21 and I am pretty sure I could not have done what those two women did – it is absolutely amazing. Hopefully by remembering the story it can help make us better people.

  5. Thank you for sharing such a remarkable story! What the world needs now is…more people like that:-)

  6. well that kind of story is what we call “the good samaritan.” sometimes no matter how cruel we think the other people are, there’s still someone who will stand up and will help you. Yes, most of the time, many individuals prioritize their own welfare. thank God for He always send angel in every situation.

    thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

 
