Toilet Untraining

Well, the time has come for Son One (age 2 1/2) to potty train. I’ve been dreading it. I know, highly illogical, especially with the price of diapers. I tried to make a game of it. “Come on, Hon, sit on the potty. I’ll give you a piece of candy” (yay for bribery).

Today, after a phone conversation with my parents where he did just about everything to distract me, I suggested sitting on the potty.

“No potty…..trrrain!’ he said.

This line was repeated several times throughout the day.

Tomorrow we’re visiting a friend and hitting up the Asian grocery for rice and noodles. But day after tomorrow, my plan is the bare-bottom thing in the backyard. He’s a very strong-willed child (geez, wonder where he got that from?!). Marketing, marketing, people. I have to make the toilet seem cool. But this is easier said than done, especially when his competition is his three-month-old brother.

~ by elenastevenson on June 3, 2008.

One Response to “Toilet Untraining”

  1. Can you get him around some little people who are already potty-trained? Make him want to be like them?

    My 2nd girl learned it amazingly fast. Prolly bc she wanted to emulate her older sis and her mama.

Leave a Reply

 
